Muskrat Courage
(written with Paul Di Filippo)


In the aftermath of his father's death, Will Keats' life finally seems to be settling down to some semblance of normalcy again in his new home with Adrienne and her bright lively, eight-year-old daughter Olivia.  Then Olivia disappears, and a trail of muddy boot prints indicates she didn't leave on her own.

The trail leads to the door of Adrienne's disreputable ex-husband, Byron, Olivia's father.  Byron has an alibi and an unlimited reserve of jealousy and hatred for Will.  Olivia's kidnapping only fuels the simmering fire between them.  But as the police and FBI investigations grow colder with the oncoming winter, it appears to Will that his only hope of ever seeing Olivia again lies in cooperating with Byron and his shady underworld connections.

To Maxine Willis and Lou Haas of Cherokee Village, Arkansas,
and to John and Mae Whitaker of Columbus, Georgia
And to Frank and Claire Phillips of Providence, Rhode Island

Muskrat Courage, First Edition / Joseph Daniel Fiedler New York: St. Martin's Minotaur
[ISBN 0-312-26207-8] [hc] ($23.95),
June 2000; 277 pp.
[cover: Joseph Daniel Fiedler]

Note: published as by "Philip Lawson"
Families Are Murder?, 1st Omnibus Edition / oiva design group] Holicong PA: PointBlank Press [ISBN 1-930997-93-0] [trade paperback] ($21.95),
Jan 2005; 352 pp
[cover: oiva design group]

Note: published as by "Philip Lawson"; also includes Would It Kill You to Smile?


Muskrat Courage is the second novel in the Will Keats Mysteries series, preceded by Would It Kill You To Smile?

Compiled by Michael H. Hutchins