Fifty Million Frenchmen

1991 Concert and Studio Recording

Music and Lyrics by Cole Porter
Book by Herbert Fields; Adaptation by Tommy Krasker

Concerts performed May 9-12, 1991 at Gould Hall, NYC
Produced by the French Institute / Alliance Francaise in association with Evans Haile
Orchestra New England conducted by Evans Haile
Directed by Larry Carpenter
Choreographer: Mike Phillips
Lighting Designer: Stuart Duke
Orchestrations by Hans Spialek, F. Henri Klickmann, Robert Russell Bennett, Charles Miller, Maurice B. DePackh and Larry Moore
Vocal quartet arrangements by Steve Katz


Howards McGillin (Peter Forbes), Kim Criswell (May DeVere), Kay McClelland (Violet Hildegarde), Susan Powell (Looloo Carroll), Karen Ziemba (Joyce Wheeler), Jason Graae (Michael Cummins), James Harder (Mr. Emmit Carroll), Scott Waara (Billy Baxter), JQ and the Bandits (Quartet), Peggy Cass (Mrs. Gladys Carroll), and Jean LeClrec (Louis Pernasse)

Musical Numbers

  • Overture - Orchestra
  • Act One

  • "You Do Something to Me" - Peter Forbes and Looloo Carroll
  • "The American Express" - Company
  • "You've Got That Thing" - Michael Cummins
  • "Find Me a Primitive Man" - May DeVere and Quartet
  • "I Worship You" - Billy Baxter
  • "Do You Want To See Paris?" - Peter, Gladys & Emmit Carroll, May, Joyce Wheeler and Quartet
  • "Where Would You Get Your Coat?" - Violet Hildegarde
  • "At Longchamps Today" - Company
  • "The Boyfriend Back Home" - May
  • "I'm in Love" - Looloo
  • "Please Don't Make Me Be Good" - Joyce
  • "You Don't Know Paree" - Peter
  • Act Two

  • Entr'acte - Quartet
  • "Somebody's Going To Throw A Big Party" - Louis Pernasse and Quartet
  • "It Isn't Done" - Louis Pernasse and Quartet
  • "The Queen Of Terre Haute" - Gladys
  • "Let's Step Out" - Looloo and Joyce
  • "The Tale Of The Oyster" - Violet
  • "I'm Unlucky At Gambling" - May
  • "Why Shouldn't I Have You?" - Michael, Billy, Violet and Joyce
  • "Paree, What Did You Do To Me?" - Company


Produced for Records by Kathryn King
Engineered and Mixed by Paul Goodman
Recorded June 3-4, 1991
at BMG Studio A, NYC
Liner Notes by Tommy Krasker
Lyrics included

  • Compact Disc, 1991 [New World 80417]

  • Go to the Original Stage Production of Fifty Million Frenchmen