The Cafe Carlyle presents Bobby Short
You're the Top: The Love Songs of Cole Porter

Bobby Short (vocals, piano); Jay Berliner, Howard Alden (guitar); Jack Stuckey, Jay Brandford (alto saxophone, clarinet, flute); Doug Lawrence (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Loren Schoenberg (tenor saxophone); Danny Bank (baritone saxophone, bass clarinet, flute); John Eckert (trumpet, flugelhorn); Tony Kadleck, Virgil Jones (trumpet); Bobby Pring, Eddie Bert (trombone); Frank Tate (bass); Klaus Suonsaari (drums)

Produced by John Snyder
Engineers: Jack Renner, Robert Friedrich, Mark Partis
Recorded at Clinton Recording Studios from October 13-16, 1998; Avatar Studios on November 9 & 29, 1998; and Sound On Sound, New York, New York on January 22 & 25, 1999
Liner notes by Robert Kimball

  • Compact Disc, 1999 [Telarc 83463]

  • Selections

    • "C'est Magnifique" (3:51)
    • "I Love You Samantha" (4:19)
    • "You Do Something To Me" (2:46)
    • "You'd Be So Nice To Come Home To" (2:56)
    • "Only Another Boy And Girl" (4:18)
    • "I Concentrate On You" (3:42)
    • "So Near And Yet So Far" (4:03)
    • "Can-Can" (5:31)
    • "I've Got You Under My Skin" (2:46)
    • "You're Sensational" (2:14)
    • "What Is This Thing Called Love?" (5:24)
    • "In The Still Of The Night" (3:43)
    • "You're The Top" (3:22)
    • "We Shall Never Be Younger" (3:18)
    • "Love Of My Life" (2:20)

    Return to the Collections List