1977 Tel Aviv Concert

Performed on April 9, 1977
at Frederic Mann Auditorium, Tel Aviv, Israel

Production Credits | Musical Numbers


Music by Leonard Bernstein
Lyrics by Richard Wilbur
Additional lyrics by John Latouche, Lillian Hellman, Dorothy Parker, and Leonard Bernstein

Production Credits

Indiana University Chamber Opera Theater
Conducted and Arranged by John Mauceri

Note: This was the World Premiere of the Candide Suite, a 50 minute performance piece for vocal soloists, chorus and orchestra.

Musical Numbers

Candide Suite

Part I
  • Overture
  • Oh Happy We
  • Wedding Procession and Chorale
  • Candide Begins His Travels
  • It Must Be So
  • Paris Waltz
  • Glitter and Be Gay
  • You Were Dead You Know
  • Pilgrims' Procession
  • My Love (Governor's Serenade)
Part II
  • I Am Easily Assimilated
  • Candide's Return From Eldorado
  • Ballad of Eldorado
  • Bon Voyage
  • Into the Raft
  • Money, Money
  • What's the Use?
  • Return to Westphalia
  • Make Our Garden Grow

Compiled by Michael H. Hutchins