Out of This World

1995 Encores! Concert Production

Music and Lyrics by Cole Porter
Book by Dwight Taylor and Reginald Lawrence, based on Amphitryon by Plautus
Concert Adaptation by David Ives

Four performances on March 30 - April 1, 1995 at the City Center Theatre
Produced by City Center 55th Street Theater Foundation, Inc
[Judith E. Daykin, Executive Director; Artistic Director: Walter Bobbie]
Directed by Mark Brokaw
Musical Director: Rob Fisher with the Coffee Club Orchestra
Scenic Consultant: John Lee Beatty
Lighting: Marc B. Weiss
Sound Design: Scott Lehrer
Choreography by John Carrafa
Original Orchestrations by Robert Russell Bennett
Orchestration of "From This Moment On" by Jonathan Tunick


Andrea Martin (Juno), Peter Scolari (Mercury), Greg Edelman (Art O'Malley), La Chanze (Chloe), Marin Mazzie (Helen), Ken Page (Jupiter), Ernie Sabella (Niki Skolianos), with Elizabeth Walsh, Dawn Spare, Rachel Coloff, Margaret Shafer, Andrea Green, Jaime Baer, John Anthony, Rodne Brown, Francis Ruivivar, David Masenheimer, Marc Heller, Dale Hensley

Musical Numbers

  • Overture - Orchestra
  • Act One

  • "Prologue" - Mercury
  • "I Jupiter, I Rex" - Jupiter and the Male Ensemble
  • "Use Your Imagination" - Helen
  • Entrance of Night [instrumental] - Orchestra
  • "Hail, Hail, Hail" - Ensemble
  • "I Got Beauty" - Juno and Ensemble
  • "Maiden Fair" - Chloe and the Female Ensemble
  • "Where, Oh Where?" - Chloe
  • "They Couldn't Compare to You" - Mercury and the Female Ensemble
  • "From This Moment On" - Helen and Art
  • "What Do You Think About Men?" - Juno, Helen, Chloe
  • Dance of the Long Night [instrumental] - Orchestra
  • "You Don't Remind Me" -Jupiter
  • "I Sleep Easier Now" - Juno
  • "I Am Loved" - Helen
  • Act Two

  • "Climb Up the Mountain" - Juno and Ensemble
  • The Dawn [instrumental] - Orchestra
  • "No Lover" - Helen
  • "Cherry Pies Ought to Be You" - Mercury & Chloe, Niki & Juno
  • "Hark to the Song of the Night" - Jupiter
  • "Nobody's Chasing Me" - Juno
  • Finale - Company

Cast Recording

Produced for Records by Hugh Fordin
Associate Producer: Rob Fisher
Recorded and Mixed by Cynthia Daniels
at Master Sound Astoria, NYC, September-October 1995

  • Compact Disc, 1995 [DRG 94764]

  • Go to the Original Stage Production of Out of This World